Thursday, March 24, 2011

Modern Fable

So, there was a 18-year-old male working in his father's garage. He was preparing to build his own miter box, in preparation for other carpentry projects he had planned.  Then his parents reminded him that there was a paper he could be doing for an English class.  It was extra credit, not required, but he felt like he would be better off ensuring a high grade and besides, it was chilly in the garage.

He put aside his tools and went inside.  He completed a paper entitled "Patriarchy and Oppression in The Scarlet Pimpernel" which was judged the best in the class and which bumped up his A- for the term in to a solid A.

His father found the half-completed miter box project in the garage to be annoying, and eventually cleaned up the mess himself after exchanging some sarcastic words with the rest of his family.  The next fall, when he needed a miter box, he used his credit card to buy one made in Taiwan.

When the next summer arrived, neither he or his son had any recollection of the carpentry project, though they did discuss the twin deficits hypothesis, as presented to a college economics class.

Sunday, March 20, 2011

Great quote from iSteve

Usually comments to iSteve are the absolute worst I find at the right end of the blog alley.  One, however, is completely unforgettable.  From a poster named Harry Baldwin:
Every year or so, the United States needs to pick up some small crappy little neocon and throw him against the wall, just to show them we're tired of them screwing this country up.
There is a policy I can get behind.

Sunday, March 6, 2011

Question for Rightists: Trauma

I am currently reading Trauma and Recovery, a book which touches on many of the same themes in the excellent movie Regeneration which I saw recently.  Though the book is from a moderately leftist, feminist perspective (its take on World War I is of the typical peacenik Ernst-Jünger-didn't-exist mindset), it inspired me to think about my online rightist friends.  In the tradition of OneSTDV, I have a question for rightists:

Has personal trauma significantly affected your politico-philosophical positions, especially your self-conception as a rightist?  Does is underpin any specific positions or stances?  Or does it merely inform your worldview in a general way?  It need not have been trauma affecting you personally, but that would have affected someone you knew personally.

Addendum: I have not blogged on the Cleveland, TX atrocity because I am just too busy and others (Mangan, Sailer, OneSTDV) have done a commendable job.  However, I think that situation ties in serendipitously with this topic.  Should someone stop by and want to shine a little light in this somewhat overcast blog, I'd be grateful.